06/05/2018 RAA Southern Rallysprint

Some of the photos from the 2018 RAA Southern Rallysprint held in the Second Valley Forest on the Fleurieu Peninsula south of Adelaide, South Australia.   This location has traditionally been used for the South Australian Rally Championship but with more the forest used as well as council roads required for a rally.

The Rallysprint only utilises some of the forest roads of the rally but has competitors driving each stage 3 times to complete the required distance for the Rallysprint championship.  Two stages were used in the morning segment.  The competitors were divided into 2 groups of roughly 10 cars with one group completing the 3 loops of one clockwise stage while the other group completed 3 loops of another clockwise stage, and then they swapped stages.  After a midday break for service two different stages (with some bits repeated but in the reverse direction) were used for the remainder of the day.  The teams drop their worst time of the 3 loops of each stage with their accumulated time then deciding the winner in each class and overall.

Making a welcome return to the SA rally scene was Jamie Pohlner in a 2003 Subaru WRX who would be serving it up to experienced rallysprint campaigner Zayne Admiraal in a 2001 Subaru WRX and Ben Calder in a 2005 Subaru WRX STi, all in the P5 class.  The field comprised 3 more Subaru WRXs with the rest of the field made up of many different brands.  Damian Reed would be debuting his new weapon, a 1988 Nissan Silvia S13, breaking away from his traditional ‘budget’ rally cars.  Andrew Gleeson, no slouch in the forest would enter his trusty 1978 Datsun Stanza which had led him to win the SARC in a 2WD car!  Steve Fisher and Guy Tyler would swap seats with Steve driving a 1995 Subaru WRX STi and Guy navigating.  Wayne Mason would be a late scratching, a real shame to not see the 1975 Ford Escort.

True to form Pohlner would outclass Admiraal (by 10secs) and Calder (by nearly a minute) to take P5 honours and the overall win.  The P6 class win went to Dale Cagney in a 1993 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO3 only 11secs behind Calder.  Paul Knopka (2005 Subaru WRX) in P5 would be 5th overall.  The CRC class would be won by Gleeson but he was the only entrant in the class!  Classic class win went to Craig Haysman in a 1979 Triumph TR8.  P3 win to Stephen Mee in his bright yellow 2007 Toyota Corolla, the youngest car in the field!  Reed would win the P4 class.  Michael Busby, back on familiar surface after his debut 2016 Adelaide Rally tarmac win in a Mazda RX7 Series 4 brought his 1983 Toyota Sprinter rally car in for the P2 class win.  The sole P1 car was the Mini of Jeremy Browne.  Jason Sims would park his Datsun 180B at 45 degrees nose down in a ditch while carrying a lot of speed after a low jump coming up to negotiate a sweeping right hander straight after a tricky culvert crossing.  The car appeared to be relatively undamaged with only cosmetic damage.  Jason cautiously drove out of the stage slowly after sheepishly admitting it was a driver error.